DPS Bokaro Abhineet qualifies from Jharkhand for Inspire MANAK Meet – Government awards INR 25000

– Innovative Technology to help the elderly

Bokaro : Abhineet Sharan, student of DPS Bokaro has qualified to represent the state of Jharkhand in the National level of the INSPIRE Awards MANAK scheme exhibition-cum-workshop for his innovative project on an anti-shaking spoon for the elderly, held at the Jharkhand Academic Council (JAC) premises in Namkum, Ranchi. Abhineet is among the 14 selected students from Jharkhand who will compete at the National Level. He will receive an incentive of INR 25000 to prepare the model.
A total of 21 students participated from Bokaro district and there were 158 models from the state. Abhineet’s project aims to solve the problem of hand tremors in the elderly, especially those with Parkinson’s disease, while eating. The spoon is mechanized on ball-gimbal technology and consists of a motor, sensor, microcontroller and ball bearing. The spoon’s PIR sensor measures the degree of rotation, and the microcontroller transfers the signal to the servo motor, which rotates the ladle in the opposite direction to nullify the hand tremor. The cost of the prototype is around INR 1,500 and the final device will cost around INR 2,500 making it cost-effective compared to similar products priced at INR 46,000. Abhineet will now compete with 59 other participants from across the country to win a chance to visit Japan and earn a cash prize of INR 50,000 if selected in the final phase of the INSPIRE Awards MANAK scheme, which aims to encourage creativity and innovative thinking among students from classes VI to X.
Principal, Dr. A. S. Gangwar said that it is indeed a proud moment for the entire school fraternity. “I believe it is the hard work, commitment and dedication of Abhineet under the able mentorship of his teachers that has helped him script his success story. I wish him all the best for the Nationals.”
Selected Participants for the Nationals
Abhineet Sharan (Bokaro), Yuvraj Das (Chatra), Mohd. Irshad Hussain (Dhanbad), Ayan Hussain (Dhanbad), Nandini Kumari (Godda), Vineeta (Gumla), Arpita Kumari (Hazaribagh), Sonakshi Kumari (Palamu), Jasmati Sundi (W.Singhbhum), Samarth Pandey (W.Singhbhum) , Rajpriya Kumari (Ranchi), Sania Khatoon (Ranchi), Parvez Ashraf (Sahibganj) and Deep Singh (Seraikela-Kharsawan).